13th Annual Awards Dinner - A Virtual Event

Friday, July 21, 2022, 6 P.M. to 9 P.M.

Register below for the Online Zoom Event

Labor Woman of the Year award to Sarah Souza, member, IFPTE Local 21

As a legislative aide to S.F. Board President Aaron Peskin, Sarah Souza is a member of International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers Local 21. She also is vice president of the San Francisco chapter of the Labor Council for Latin American Advancement AFL-CIO. She has been involved in immigrant rights struggles on a national, state and local level. She is an active member of the National League of United Latin American Citizens. She is an executive member of the Chicano Latino Caucus of the California Democratic Party. As a result of her advocacy and joint efforts with statewide leaders, the Governor signed the expansion of Earned Income Tax Credit to immigrant workers. In 2019, she was appointed as the first Dreamer to serve on the DCCC. As co-chair of SF Commissions for All, she led the campaign to pass a charter amendment to allow all San Franciscans, regardless of immigration status, to serve on local boards and commissions.

Labor Man of the Year award to Alan Benjamin, member, OPEIU Local 29

For more than 30 years, Alan Benjamin has been an active member of Office and Professional Employees International Union Local 3 (now Local 29) and a delegate to the San Francisco Labor Council, many of those years as a member of its executive board. He is a longtime member of the Labor Council for Latin American Advancement AFL-CIO. Working with San Francisco LCLAA then-president Ed Rosario, OPEIU Local 3 then-president Nancy Wohlforth, California Labor Federation then-secretary treasurer Jack Henning and San Francisco Labor Council then-secretary treasurer Walter Johnson, he helped found the campaign for Global Unionism. He also worked with the Campaign in Defense of the Conventions of the International Labor Organization (ILO), based in Geneva, Switzerland.

Event Registration Form