11th Annual Awards Dinner Honorees – A Virtual Event

Click Here to Register

Biographies of the honorees

Labor Woman of the Year Award Winner

Vernell Hawkins

Retired member – American Postal Workers Union Local 2

Vernell Hawkins has been a U.S. Post Office employee and member of the American Postal Workers Union since 1967. She joined the year that the Postal Workers Strike took place which brought better wages and working conditions. Vernell became a union shop steward in 1986. She walked picket lines and participated in protests for her union and other unions. She has been an active member of Post Office Women for Equal Rights (POWER), holding office as the 2nd Vice President. She has contributed and helped raise funds for the American Postal Workers Committee on Political Action. She has been a professional female disc jockey, playing old and contemporary music for Post Office functions, and other events.

Vernell is a member of Third Baptist Church in San Francisco, with Rev. Amos Brown as pastor, and belongs to the San Francisco unit of Church Women United. She is an active member of the San Francisco Labor Council and their executive committee and law and legislative committee; the San Francisco Living Wage Coalition; the San Francisco branch of the NAACP; the A. Philip Randolph Institute San Francisco chapter; the American Postal Workers Union Retirees Department; Chapter 65 of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association; and the California Alliance for Retired Americans.

Labor Man of the Year Award Winner

David Bacon

Member – Pacific Media Workers Guild CWA Local 39521

David Bacon is a writer and photographer, former factory worker and union organizer. He documents workers, migration, and the struggle for human rights. His latest book, In the Fields of the North/En los Campos del Norte (University of California 2017), documents the lives of farmworkers in photographs and oral histories. He is co-chair of Guild Freelancers, the freelance unit of the Pacific Media Workers Guild, CWA Local 39521. He was board chair of the Northern California Coalition for Immigrant Rights, and has been an activist for immigrant, labor and human rights for many years.